Social Networking

8 04 2010

This week in the lecture Michael Honey spoke about social media. This is YouTube, Flickr, Facebook and all that other stuff. What I found most interesting was the progression of Facebook from a small social network at a university to the largest social networking website in the world in the space of just four years. We looked at a graph on Google trends and compared Facebook and MySpace and how they’ve grown since they were both created. Facebook dropped its pants and shat all over Myspace. Around mid 2007 they became equally as popular and by 2008 Facebook shot high above Myspace in user numbers. Today over 400 million people are using Facebook. If Facebook were a country it would be one of the largest in the world and they’d probably have nuclear weapons which they would use to whip out any other countries that stood in their way of ruling the world. Almost definitely.

Looks like there’s a but load of cash in this whole social networking thing, so my plan is to follow some of the geeky guys who run Facebook home and mug them. I figure that as long as I’m careful about it and change my mugging times and dates often, I should be able to keep it up for a good two years and live off the money I take from Mark Zuckerberg’s pocket and in two years there will probably be a bigger and better social networking site so I can start mugging that chump.


Actions

Information

One response

20 05 2010
Final Blog for the Semester « Big Old Blog

[…] Here are the titles of the top three blogs I have chosen for assessment:  Datavisualization, Photosynth and Social Networking. […]

Leave a comment